world-food

Around the world in 80 plates


  17.01.17    Global


2016 bought many great dishes, from the humble but brilliant: I’m talking about you, Honorio tacos in Tulum, Mexico at #7 – to gastronomic masterpieces. Everyone loves a listicle, so here’s a gallery of some of the best 80 plates, in no particular order, with 20 new ones added each week for the next month. I’ve added links to my reviews or stories where they exist

1. Comté with beetroot at Gaddi’s, The Peninsula Hong Kong: http://finefooddude.com/gaddis-hong-kong/

thumb_DSC_0113_1024

2. ‘Burnt Ends’ Sanger’ with pulled pork shoulder, chipotle aioli, home made slaw on brioche at Burnt Ends, Singapore.  http://finefooddude.com/burnt-ends-singapore/

Burnt Ends Singapore Review

3. Teppanyaki prawn at Hinokizaka, The Ritz Carlton,Tokyo  http://www.ritzcarlton.com/en/hotels/japan/tokyo/dining/hinokizaka-tempura

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2c90

4. Carpaccio di Manzo at Belmond Hotel Cipriani, Venice – http://finefooddude.com/cips-club-belmond-hotel-cipriani/

CIP'S CIPRIANI REVIEW

CIP'S CIPRIANI REVIEW

5. Cheese platter fresh from the Soca Valley farm, Slovenia – http://edition.cnn.com/2016/11/17/travel/slovenia-travel-guide/

2016-05-30 00.06.40

6. Shrimp Po’ Boy, Parkway Tavern, New Orleanshttp://parkwaypoorboys.com/

poboy

7. Cochinita Pibil pulled pork tacos, Taqueria Honorio, Tulum, Mexico – the greatest taco anywhere.

DSC_0049

8. Chocolate, mint and marshmallow, Rhoda, Hong Kong: http://finefooddude.com/rhoda-hong-kong/

RHODA HONG KONG RESTAURANT REVIEW

9. ‘Onion soup’, Le Cinq, George V Four Seasons Paris – http://www.restaurant-lecinq.com/en/

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_338

10. Maison Antoine fries, Brusselswww.maisonantoine.be/

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_35a

11. Oysters Rockerfeller, Shuck It oyster truck, Brisbanehttp://www.shuckit.com.au/ 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2fb

12. Dublin Bay prawns, warm mayonnaise, crunchy buckwheat pancake, Caprice, Four Seasons Hong Kong – http://www.fourseasons.com/hongkong/dining/restaurants/caprice/

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_335

13. Octopus, Dongdaemun, Seoul (The octopus was still moving, check out the vid here )

IMG_4989

14. Khao Soi, Chiang Mai, Thailand

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_12af

IMG_9666

15. Steak selection, Raging Bull, Manila – http://finefooddude.com/raging-bull-manila/

thumb_DSC_0079_1024

16. Breakfast roti on the street, Bangkok

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1201

17. Fluffy’s Pizza, New York – http://www.fluffyscafe.com/fluffyscafe_main.html

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e7c

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_4e7d

18. Sizzling sisig at 230am, Manila, Philippines – with Jordy and guys from Toyohttp://finefooddude.com/toyo-manila/

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_1372

19. Accras Morues or cod fritters, Otantiq, Martinique – https://www.facebook.com/Otantik-Ti-resto-nature-144290702407832/
DSC_0341

20. Sri Lankan black lamb curry, AJ’s, Hong Kong – http://finefooddude.com/ajs-sai-kung-hong-kong-hop/

thumb_IMG_0122_1024-1

21 In Jabugo in South west Spain, for a story on Jamon Ibèrico,  outstanding plate of local tomatoes with olive oil, salt and bread.  http://www.scmp.com/lifestyle/food-drink/article/2058961/how-hongkongers-crave-jamon-iberico-and-spanish-oak-forest

thumb_DSC_0676_1024

22 Ropa Vieja, Havana. A dish that translates as ´old clothes´ doesn´t inspire confidence, but it´s Cuba´s national favourite of slow-cooked and shredded pork. http://www.scmp.com/lifestyle/food-drink/article/2068739/forget-hemingway-trail-dine-locals-havanas-hidden-gems

DSC_0218

23 Pork pie with piccallili, The Mall, London. As British as warm beer and a European exit, but far more appealing. Lunch with the Queen for her 90th bought this little out of focus beauty. 

thumb_IMG_2912_1024

24 A meat-filled bun and cold beer in the streets of Kyoto.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_a4

25 Jinjuu fried chicken, Hong Kong. http://finefooddude.com/jinjuu-hong-kong-spamaritas-kfc/

IMG_8048

26 Sichuan chilli prawns at Qi Nine Dragons in TST. Because every list needs Sichuan on it somewherehttp://finefooddude.com/qi-nine-dragons-hong-kong-hills-alive/

DSC_0169

27 Paella at Olé, Hong Kong. Again, not my pic, obvs. http://finefooddude.com/ole-hong-kong/

Paella-Valenciana

28 Lobster with girolle mushrooms at Le Meurice by Alain Ducasse, at his breathtaking temple to cuisine in Paris´Rue De Rivoli. 

DSC_1003 copy

29 Hong Kong, French onion soup at Maison Eight. And no, that´s not my photo. http://finefooddude.com/maison-eight-hong-kong-soup-soul/

Maison Eight - Onion Broth with melted cheese and air-dried ham French toast

30 As with all of Japan, there is almost no bad food in San Sebástian. A case in point this slow cooked octopus, dusted with paprika and served with bread, eaten with Eskerne Falcon and Chris Shafted Murray. 

thumb_DSC_0348_1024

31 Staying in Spain, sublime garlic shrimp served by one grumpy old bastard in Madrid.

42A48103-D526-4F35-97FE-AAFEE1D8C381

2C909F20-FBC0-4800-9E49-18DFF7D5C8B6

32 Dubai beachside spread at the rather lovely Shimmers, at Madinat Jumeirah

2016-03-03 16.51.32 copy

33 Real chips and real salsa in Tulum, Mexico. 

DSC_0159

34 A full-ish English, Woodbridge, Suffolk.

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_520

35 Chinese caviar at Kaluga Queen in Hangzhou, as I discovered in a piece for Cathay Dragon´s Silk Road magazine.

IMG_0546

36 Cheese at Beau Rivage Palace, Lausanne, Switzerland.There´s cheese, then there´s cheese in a two Michelin star Swiss dining room. Look. At. That. Trolley. http://www.brp.ch/en/restaurants-and-bars/anne-sophie-pic/the-restaurant.html

IMG_0957

37 Chicken feet adobo, Hong Kong, for my BBC piece on domestic helpers and what they eat; http://www.bbc.com/travel/story/20161109-a-sunday-ritual-for-300000-women

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_2ac3

38 Afternoon tea with The Countess of Carnarvon inside Highclere Castle, the real home of Downton Abbey. http://edition.cnn.com/2016/10/03/travel/highclere-castle-downton-abbey-travel/

DSC_0219 DSC_0232

39 New Orleans Gumbo. Now sadly closed, Purloo had one of the best takes on the local classic gumbo, here with pheasant.

DSC_0737

40 Brilliant tandoori chicken at The Mandarin Oriental Singapore. http://www.mandarinoriental.com/destination-mo/luxury-living/dining/singapore-street-food.aspx

2016-08-11 13.47.07